Viewing entries tagged
saloon cars


Saloon cars in town

A 42-strong field headed by defending champion Steve Williams is expected to contest the North Island Saloon Car Championship at Baypark Speedway tomorrow night. 

With the postponement of last weekend's North Island Stock Car title, the saloon car event becomes the third of four Speedway NZ titles to be raced at the Mt Maunganui track this summer. 

Williams, who won the North Island title at Rotorua last season and the New Zealand title at Baypark last season, has a break from his caddying duties with Tiger Woods this weekend, allowing him to race his Ford Mustang at Baypark. 

It's a chance for Williams to resume a battle with local racers Brent McClymont and Terry Corin that went to the closing lap of the 2010 national title. 

Corvette racers McClymont and Corin are again the in-form drivers at Baypark this season. 

On feature races, Corin holds the advantage with an impressive five victories from nine starts and McClymont has won three times. 

The only other driver to win a saloon car feature race at Baypark this season has been Tirau's Michelle Wymer, with a consistent record including a second and four third placings in her Corvette. 

Other likely challengers this weekend include Tokoroa's Chris Taylor (Mustang) who recently won Rotorua's version of the BOP champs while Hamilton's Geoff Webb (Corvette), Tauranga's Steve Muir (Corvette) and Matamata racers Jeff Barron (Corvette) and Paul Cressy (Monaro) are other home track hopes. 

Heading the visitors is Whitianga racer Phil Towgood. As the inaugural saloon car champ in 2008, Towgood had a NZ GP victory at Gisborne last weekend.

1NZ - Steve Williams 
4A - Anita Sloot 
5M - Brent McClymont 
6M - Tony Christiansen 
8G - David Moorcroft 
8S - Craig Korff 
10H - Kevin Moore 
10M - Neil Head 
11M - Zach Rayner 
13R - Murray Guy 
14M - Brett Kaye 
15M - Murray Belz 
16S - Thomas Korff 
16M - Steve Muir 
17W - Stuart Cunningham 
17M - John Lourie 
18M - Chris Taylor 
24G - Daniel Corrin 
37M - Stuart Neave 
42H - Daniel Davis 
43H - Aaron Tonks 
45M - Paul Cressy 
46M - Terry Corin 
48A - Philip Towgood 
51M - Tony Heuvel 
59A - Bryan Skelton 
66A - Peter Church 
66M - Geoff Webb 
68A - Dan Oliver 
69M - Jeff Barron 
74A - Scott Lansdowne 
75M - Michelle Wymer 
77K - Rossco Cresswell 
77M - Karl Knedler 
78A - David Fisher 
78S - Chris Betts 
78M - Mike Balsom 
79M - Mike Griffiths 
81M - Darryl Cobb 
82M - Paul Managh 
86G - Ralph Scott 
97A - Robin Thomas 
98M - Bryan Fraser 
271M - Steve Cowling 
272M - Chris Cowling

Key to tracks:
A - Auckland 
G - Gisborne 
H - Huntly 
K - Kihikihi 
M - Baypark 
R - Rotorua 
S - Stratford 
W - Wellington